Update on New ICD-10-CM Codes for Subsets of Eosinophilic Diseases

March 15, 2019

Over the past year, APFED and the International Eosinophil Society (IES) partnered to propose and jointly advocate for eight unique and distinct ICD-10-CM Codes for subsets of eosinophilic diseases and for four amendments to existing codes. In early March, APFED Board Member Kathleen Sable and IES President Dr. Bruce Bochner were invited to Baltimore, MD to present the justification for the new codes and amendments to members of the to the ICD Coordination and Maintenance Committee, co-chaired by the  National Center for Health Statistics and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

New Codes Proposed

1.       Acute Eosinophilic Pneumonia

2.       Chronic Eosinophilic Pneumonia

3.       Eosinophilic Asthma

4.       Myeloid Hypereosinophilic Syndrome

5.       Lymphocytic Variant Hypereosinophilic Syndrome

6.       Idiopathic Hypereosinophilic Syndrome

7.       Episodic Angioedema with Eosinophilia, also known as Gleich’s Syndrome

8.       Drug Reaction with Eosinophilia and Systemic Symptoms (DRESS)


·    Distinct code for Eosinophilic Gastritis

·    Distinct code for Eosinophilic Gastroenteritis

·    Eosinophilic Colitis, redefining which conditions can be coded as EC

·    Eosinophilic Granulomatosis with Polyangiitis (EGPA), updating existing code to include EGPA (new name), previously known as Churg-Strauss

The proposal for the new codes and the amendments was well received. Following a review period, a decision will be made on the proposed code changes.

The ICD-10-CM coding system is an international classification system that groups related disease and procedures for the purpose of reporting statistical information. These codes provide a uniform language and serve as an effective means for reliable nationwide communication among physicians, patients, and third parties. These codes are necessary for billing, insurance and medical records, and national statistics. Codes also have substantial benefits to the patient community, including promoting research into these diseases, new clinical trials, and successful insurance reimbursement for patients.

In 2008, APFED led efforts for the establishment of medical codes for eosinophilic gastrointestinal diseases, which greatly advanced research efforts and national health resource allocation in the U.S. for these diseases.